Who We Are

DSNSG conference Dinner 2016Margaret Fisk OAM

Margaret is the Founder of DSNSG and she also held the position of  National Coordinator/Secretary from 1993 to January 2013. Margaret’s involvement with DSNSG began in late 1993 when she formed the group due to the experiences her family had when trying to obtain services for their son who has severe disabilities. Margaret has received several awards for her work with people with disabilities including being awarded a Medal in the Order of Australia and the Carer Innovation Award from the Carers Association of Australia. Margaret was also awarded a Centenary Medal from the Federal Government.

Kim Collins

Kim Collins is the CEO of the Defence Special Needs Support Group.
Kim was the previous National Coordinator for Defence Special Needs Support Group Inc since end of 2013 till Oct 2017.
Before being National Coordinator for DSNSG, Kim was the Membership and Communication Officer.
Kim was the President for Blamey Community Group and also the Treasurer of Blamey Community Group Kapooka in Wagga Wagga from 2011 till 2013.
Due to this interest and a background in nursing and defence, Kim became the Voluntary Coordinator for Wagga Wagga area in 2011. Kim also holds Cert III in Disability, Cert III in Community Services, Certificate IV in Front line management, training in Managing Community Organisations, Certificate of Business Services, Great understanding of Defence funding. Currently Studying Cert IV in Mental Health.
Kim has 5 children and one child with SN who  is a sensational kid with ADHD/ASD/ADD and learning difficulties which has given  her an insight and understanding into the processes surrounding Special Needs.

Kim’s aims are to support  Defence families and educate people about the uniqueness of Special Needs and promote the group to the wider community. A solid parental support network is essential as Defence life is unique with a transient lifestyle. Kim strives to provide support wherever possible.

Air Commodore Henrik Ehlers AM

Air Commodore Henrik Ehlers has completed over 36 years service in the Permanent Air Force, specialising in logistics and personnel. His final posting was as Director General Personnel – Air Force from 2015-2018. After leaving full-time service, Henrik wanted to give back to ADF members and their families in some way, so he accepted our invitation to be our inaugural DSNSG Ambassador. Henrik has had extensive engagement with DSNSG over the years and is very keen to advance our work. Henrik’s role is to be a connection between our group and our supporters, Government, Defence & the Services and as a mentor of sorts to the DSNSG team. He’s located in Canberra and will be able to represent DSNSG at those events where the National Committee aren’t able to travel to. Henrik is married to Katrina, an active RAAF Reservist. They enjoy travel, gardening and spending time with their Cocker Spaniel, Macy.

Sandy Soulsby
 National  Coordinator
Sandy was a serving member in the Australian Army, and has been a member of DSNSG since 1993. Sandy is married to Michael who was also a serving member in the Australian Army. Sandy is a mother to four boys with varying special needs. Sandy has been a local coordinator on a couple of occasions for the Darling Downs area. She is a volunteer for her local RSL Sub Branch, a Life Member of Qld RSL and is also a volunteer Wildlife Carer, and does rescue wildlife work for the RSPCA. Sandy has been on the National Committee since December 2013 and has been a great asset to the National Committee.

Cherie Davis

National Assistant Coordinator

Kate Batty

National Assistant Coordinator

Melissa Snell

National Treasurer

Rebecca Cant

National Communications and Membership Officer

Coordinator Team

Local Coordinators
The Defence Special Needs Support Group is privileged to have a dedicated and enthusiastic Coordinator Team.
The Coordinator Team is comprised of all local DSNSG Coordinators. Members of the Coordinator Team, like the National Committee, are all volunteers.

Adelaide and Woodside – Samantha Jones

Amberley – Kirsten Pini

Albury/Wodonga – Kylie Bonner

Brisbane  – Diana Simpson

Cairns – Vacant

Canberra  – Claire MacFarlane Rowles

Darling Downs – Staci Foot

Darwin – Kate Batty

Liverpool – Vacant

Macarthur/Campbelltown – Vacant

Melbourne  North– Vacant

Melbourne West – Vacant

Mornington – Marina Talbot

Nowra – Vacant

Perth – Joanne Rossiter

Puckapunyal – Naomi Cross

Richmond – Vacant

Sale – Rebecca Cant

Sydney North – Vacant

Sydney South– Vacant

Tindal – Colin Pickstone

Townsville  –  Cherie Davis

Townsville  –  Helen Taylor

Wagga Wagga –  Vacant

Williamtown – Tahlia Macpherson

Please click this link to view National Committee and Local Coordinator Roles and Responsibilities

DSNSG at War Memorial May 2017