Northern Territory


Coordinator: Marina Talbot

Darwin is a vibrant tropical city surrounded by the sea, world heritage national parks and the outback. Darwin has evolved from its days as an incredibly laid back frontier town and while it still retains its relaxed charm, it has become a highly sophisticated city. A diverse cultural background provides some of the best and most varied food experiences in Australia. Many newcomers are surprised to find that it has eateries, clubs, pubs, museums and other amenities comparable to what you’d find in the southern cities. Looking for information on Alice Springs or Katherine?
Suburbs of Darwin
All Darwin and Palmerston suburbs are located within 30 kilometres of the Defence bases and are therefore convenient locations for housing. Palmerston is just 15-minute drive south-east of Darwin and is one of Australia’s fastest-growing areas.

Phone: 0417 636 541



Coordinator: Vacant

Situated 320 kilometres south of Darwin on the banks of the Katherine River, Katherine is the third largest town in the Northern Territory. The Katherine region is fondly known as ‘Adventure Territory’, boasting the magnificent Nitmiluk (Katherine Gorge) National Park, the Katherine Hot Springs, and the Katherine Low-Level Nature Reserve. Katherine has a modern air-conditioned shopping centre, hospital, sports grounds, parks and gardens, and a range of Commonwealth and Territory Government services. Katherine is the closest major town to RAAF Base Tindal, located only 17 km south east. Defence families posted to Tindal can access education, health, local government services and employment opportunities in Katherine. Looking for information on Alice Springs or Darwin?

Suburbs of Katherine
Katherine is quite a large town by its land area despite a combined population of around 10,000 people. The Katherine Town Council zone extends from Flora River Junction in the west to Maranboy in the east and from the Fergusson River in the north to the Sturt Plateau in the south. Other shire zones in the Katherine Region are the Victoria Daly and the Roper Gulf Shires.

Phone: 1800 037 674